Clear Search

Dr. Nancy Davidson Inaugurated as New President of AACR

By BCRF | April 19, 2016

Longtime BCRF grantee and member of the Scientific Advisory Board, was inducted as President of the American Association for Cancer Research for 2016-2017

The American Association for Cancer Research (AACR) welcomed BCRF investigator and member of the Scientific Advisory Board Nancy E. Davidson, MD, as president of the organization for 2016-2017. She was inaugurated during the Annual Business Meeting, held during the AACR Annual Meeting 2016.

Dr. Davidson is a world-renowned breast cancer researcher whose work focuses on clinical and translational breast cancer research and cancer biology and treatment. She is director of the University of Pittsburgh Cancer Institute associate vice chancellor for cancer research; Hillman professor of oncology; distinguished professor of medicine and pharmacology and chemical biology; and professor in the Clinical and Translational Science Institute at the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine.

“It’s an exciting challenge and honor to lead the AACR, an organization that has an impressive reputation for its high-quality, innovative cancer research” Davidson said in a recent AACR press annoucement. “I am eager to work with the AACR community on its singular focus of preventing and curing cancer through research, education, communication, and collaboration during this time of unprecedented scientific opportunity.” 

Last year, BCRF had the opportunity to sit down with Dr. Davidson and speak to her about her upcoming presidency. 

“My work with BCRF is integral to everything I do. I’ve been involved with BCRF since 1998. It has not only helped me as an individual researcher, but has also helped me to be part of breast cancer teams and to support organizations I’m passionate about like AACR,” she told BCRF

Other BCRF grantees who have served as AACR president include Carlos Arteaga (immediate past president), Judy Garber, Geoffrey Wahl and Susan Horwitz.  

BCRF joins the AACR in honoring Dr. Davidson and congratulates her on this prestigious appointment.