Clear Search

BCRF Researchers Honored at 2020 ASCO Annual Meeting

By BCRF | June 5, 2020

Congratulations to our investigators who were recognized for their contributions

The American Society of Clinical Oncology’s (ASCO) annual conference is the largest meeting in the world focused on clinical oncology—typically attracting more than 35,000 attendees, including clinical and laboratory scientists and trainees, patient advocates, and representatives from the pharmaceutical industry.

This year’s meeting went virtual through a combination of livestreams and on-demand presentations. The scientific program featured updates on clinical trials, clinical science symposia, and late-breaking cancer research. Though shortened from five to three days, the virtual meeting offered participants the opportunity to share their findings across a variety of approaches, disciplines, and specialties in oncology and connect with other researchers and clinicians to accelerate progress.

In addition to the meeting’s scientific program, each year, ASCO’s committee members select awardees in a variety of categories of distinction. BCRF is proud to acknowledge and congratulate members of our scientific leadership and our researchers who were recognized this year.

Dawn L. Hershman, MD, MS, FASCO, of Columbia University Medical Center ,received the Hologic Inc. Endowed Women Who Conquer Cancer Mentorship Award, which recognizes extraordinary female leaders in oncology that have excelled as mentors and have demonstrated outstanding commitment to the professional development of women colleagues as clinicians, educators, and researchers. She has developed an expertise in the areas of breast cancer treatment, prevention, survivorship, late-effects of cancer therapy, health outcomes, and health disparities research.

Hyman B. Muss, MD, FASCO, of UNC Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center, received the Allen S. Lichter Visionary Leader Award and Lecture in recognition of his significant impact on oncology and his leadership in advancing the missions of ASCO, CancerLinQ LLC, and ASCO’s Conquer Cancer Foundation. Dr. Muss and his research team are conducting a series of studies to understand the effects of chemotherapy on biological aging and identifying strategies to prevent or attenuate these unwanted side effects.

George W. Sledge, Jr., MD, FASCO, of Stanford University Medical Center, received the Gianni Bonadonna Breast Cancer Award and Lecture in recognition of his clinical and translational research and distinguished record of breast cancer advancements. He directed the first large, nationwide study on the use of paclitaxel (Taxol®) to treat advanced breast cancer. Dr. Sledge’s current research focuses on the incidence and survival outcomes of metastatic breast cancer (MBC). He and his team use information from multiple research and patient databases to identify cases of breast cancer relapse and inform optimal treatment for MBC patients.

In addition, the following BCRF investigators received Fellow of the American Society of Clinical Oncology (FASCO) distinctions for their extraordinary volunteer service, dedication, and commitment to ASCO:

Pamela Goodwin, MD, MSc, FRCPC: Marvelle Koffler Breast Centre, University of Toronto/Mount Sinai Hospital

Bruce Haffty, MD: Rutgers Cancer Institute of New Jersey, Robert Wood Johnson Medical School

Kathy Miller, MD: Simon Cancer Center, Indiana University School of Medicine

Mark Robson, MD: Weill Cornell Medical College and Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

Vered Stearns, MD (member of BCRF’s Scientific Advisory Board): Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center, Johns Hopkins Medicine

In addition, BCRF is proud to honor the late Dr. Arti Hurria, MD, FASCO—a BCRF investigator who tragically lost her life in a car accident—for her commitment to mentoring the next generation of geriatric oncologists. BCRF supports a Conquer Cancer merit award which enables a young investigator to attend the meeting and present their research. This year’s recipient is Dr. Amber Kleckner (University of Rochester Medical Center), whose research is focused on improving how oncologists discuss comorbidities with their elder cancer patients.

Finally, BCRF congratulates Lori J. Pierce, MD, FASCO, FASTRO, of the University of Michigan, who will serve as ASCO’s 2020-2021 president, joining this list of past ASCO presidents from the BCRF research community:

Monica M. Bertagnolli, MD (2018-2019)

Daniel F. Hayes, MD (2016-2017)

Clifford A. Hudis, MD, former chair of the BCRF Scientific Advisory Board (2013-2014)

Sandra M. Swain, MD, FACP, FASCO (2012-213)

George W. Sledge, Jr, MD, FASCO (2010-2011)

Nancy E. Davidson, MD, current chair of the BCRF Scientific Advisory Board (2007-2008)

Larry Norton, MD, FASCO, FAACR, BCRF Founding Scientific Director (2001-2002)

In August, the ASCO community will meet again online for more symposia, poster presentations, and educational sessions. Read the rest of BCRF’s 2020 ASCO annual meeting coverage here.